Who We Are

DRIFCan is dedicated to funding research to find a cure for type 1 diabetes.

Diabetes Research Institute Foundation Canada

The Diabetes Research Institute Foundation Canada (DRIFCan) was established in 2005 to fund the Edmonton Protocol. Dr. Shapiro and his team are located at the Alberta Diabetes Institute at the University of Alberta in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. We believe that donors supporting diabetes research want as much funding to go directly to cure based research. DRIFCan funds clinical and human trials with Dr. Shapiro and his team.

Dr. James Shapiro

The DRIFCan Team

Melanie Hibbard

Executive Director

Rob Otway


Daryl Burd

Vice Chair

Kathleen Gibson


Natasha Wensley

Board Member

David Blue


Sarah Simoes

Board Member

Marilee Byers

Board Member

Rick Tiedemann

Board Member